Waking Mama Luna Illustrations

I love the stories in Waking Mama Luna (of course, I wrote them) but I also love the illustrations. In this post I wanted to share a little about the process of working with the illustrator, Angela Ferreira, and why I’m really glad Waking Mama Luna features Angela’s work.

[quote author=”Pablo Picasso” source=””]Every now and then one paints a picture that seems to have opened a door and serves as a stepping stone to other things. 
[/quote]

I hadn’t really thought about Waking Mama Luna having illustrations until my editor suggested that it would be a nice addition. I am so glad that I listened. I feel the illustrations go far beyond being a nice addition. Angela’s drawings somehow deepen and broaden the meaning of the stories.

illustration1

I have known Angela for a couple of years now and love her work, her fairy exhibition in Cardiff was brilliant! So, when I was thinking of commissioning drawings for the stories, she popped into my head immediately. She was in Snowdonia with rubbish phone signal when I messaged her but she managed to reply “I am the right person for you, speak soon”. Yes!

I sent her the manuscript and she read the stories. I didn’t give her any input into what I wanted the pictures to look like so it was a wonderful surprise each time she sent me one to look at.

Over the course of a fortnight all five were done. I didn’t request any revisions. I loved them exactly as they were.

The only one she didn’t draw specially for Waking Mama Luna was the drawing for Call of the Sea, which seemed unbelievable for me given how perfectly it fits with the story. I loved it so much, and the synchronicity that we also used it as part of the cover artwork.

The Call of the Sea

